Friday, August 19, 2022

10 Tory politicians nominated for succession to Theresa May


Zubair Yaqoob
The author has diversified experience in investigative journalism. He is Chief content editor at

Total of ten out of eleven candidates are nominated by a committee of the ruling Conservative Party in London on Monday. These candidates will compete for the succession to Theresa May.

Most favorite is the controversial ex-Foreign Minister Boris Johnson, Many trust him to win back disappointed Brexit voters who have turned away from the Conservatives.

With new plans, the Brexit hardliners immediately caused a stir again. Johnson announced that the agreed final bill for the EU exit of 39 billion pounds (about 44 billion euros) for the time being to stop.

Boris also announced a significant reduction in income tax for well-off Britons. Scotland’s head of government Nicola Sturgeon called the plans of the Brexit hardliners a “horror show”.

Among the ten nominees, Foreign minister are Jeremy Hunt, Environment Minister Michael Gove, former Brexit Minister Dominic Raab, Home Secretary Sajid Javid, Health Minister Matt Hancock, Development Minister Rory Stewart, former Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Andrea Leadsom, former Labor Secretary Esther McVey and EU-friendly MP Mark Harper.

Each candidate needed the support of at least eight MPs. Only former state secretary of state Sam Gyimah had not made that hurdle.

Read also: Race between candidates to succeed Theresa May

- Advertisement -
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x