Monday, August 2, 2021

14 EU member states agree on a new mechanism to distribute migrants


Zubair Yaqoob
The author has diversified experience in investigative journalism. He is Chief content editor at
- Advertisement -

French President Emmanuel Macron said on Monday that some 14 EU member states had agreed to a new “solidarity mechanism” proposed by Germany and France to distribute migrants across the EU.

The EU foreign and interior ministers met in Paris to discuss immigration and security issues.

“At the conclusion of this morning’s meeting, 14 EU member states expressed their agreement in principle to the Franco-German document,” Macron told reporters.


Macron said France had asked the Libyan government to ensure the end of the detention of migrants in Libya and take appropriate measures for their safety.

Read also: IOM: Over 63,000 migrants repatriated in 2018

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News