Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Asylum seekers from nine countries in Germany, recognition rate below five percent


Zubair Yaqoob
The author has diversified experience in investigative journalism. He is Chief content editor at wnobserver.com

Asylum seekers from the Gambia, India, Morocco, Armenia, Algeria, Georgia, Pakistan, Moldova and the Ivory Coast had therefore a recognition rate of less than five percent, German Interior ministry spokesperson said. Thus, these countries are potentially eligible for the extension of the list of safe countries of origin agreed in the coalition agreement. Nevertheless, they will be examined intensively.

People from safe countries of origin can be deported from Germany more easily, and asylum procedures can be processed faster. The recognition rate reflects the part of those seeking protection who receive either political asylum, protection under the Geneva Refugee Convention or – as is usually the case with civil war refugees – subsidiary protection. In addition, some asylum seekers may still stay, because they are not deported for medical reasons; But they do not turn up in the recognition rate.

The coalition of the CDU, CSU and SPD had agreed that besides Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia “more states with a regular recognition rate below five percent should be designated as safe countries of origin”.

According to the spokesperson, the ministry bases this on the quota of past three years. In addition, only countries that are among the 30 main countries of origin of asylum seekers would be considered. The reason: In few cases, a quota is not meaningful.

However, the provision of the coalition agreement cannot be considered alone. The Ministry refers to provisions of the Constitutional Court, which refer to the Basic Law, as well as to EU law. “Prior to the classification of a state as a safe country of origin, the Federal Government, after careful examination of the legal situation, application of law and general political conditions, has to form an overall assessment of the circumstances that are significant for persecution in the respective state,” the spokesperson explained. This means that not every one of the nine countries to pass the test.


- Advertisement -
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x