Sunday, January 23, 2022

Canada bans entry to travelers from 10 countries


Mehboob Ali Shaikh
Mehboob Ali Shaikh is the Bureau Chief of World News Observer. Based in Canada, working with Toronto 360 TV. Mehboob has accomplished Years of experience in print and broadcast media. He is an active participant in Social media strategies, including Facebook, Twitter and Skype.

Canada has banned entry to travelers from Egypt, Nigeria, and Malawi, amid the rising spread of the Omicron variant of the Coronavirus, after it imposed the same procedure on seven other African countries.

Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos said during a press conference that “foreign nationals who have transited or resided in these 10 countries cannot enter Canada if they have resided there within the past two weeks.

The minister explained that the decision to prevent these travelers from entering Canada will take effect from Wednesday.

As for Canadian citizens and foreigners permanently residing in Canada, they will still be able to return to this country even if they have resided during the past two weeks in any of the ten countries from which travel is prohibited but provided that they undergo a laboratory examination upon arrival at the airport and a second examination a week after that and stay in quarantine.

Duclos added that all travelers coming to Canada on international flights, with the exception of those coming from the United States, will have to undergo a Covid test at the airport and stay in isolation until the result of this examination is issued.

The seven banned countries in question are from southern Africa: Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

Latest update of confirmed Omicron cases in 25 countries.


- Advertisement -
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x