Thursday, August 11, 2022

UK bans travel from 6 African countries over new Covid strain


Zubair Yaqoob
The author has diversified experience in investigative journalism. He is Chief content editor at

Britain announced that it will prevent travelers from 6 African countries from entering the territory of the United Kingdom due to a new mutated version of the Coronavirus, which is likely to be more contagious than its predecessors.

British Health Minister Sajid Javid said: “The Health Security Agency is studying the new version. We must wait for more data on it, but as a precautionary measure, 6 African countries will be added from midnight on the red list for the Coronavirus, and air traffic with them will be canceled and it will have to be.” Britons returning from it must undergo quarantine.

Javid explained that the ban will include all flights from the six countries, which are:

  • South Africa
  • Namibia
  • Lesotho
  • Eswatini
  • Zimbabwe
  • Botswana

The World Health Organisation (WHO) on Friday classified the B.1.1.529 variant detected in South Africa as a SARS-CoV-2 “variant of concern,” saying it may spread more quickly than other forms.

British health authorities have expressed great concern about a new strain of the Coronavirus that has recently spread in South Africa, suggesting that vaccines will be less effective against it.

The new strain carries twice the number of mutations in the delta strain, including those associated with avoiding the immune response resulting from both previous infection and vaccination, as well as mutations associated with increased infection.

- Advertisement -
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x