ExxonMobil community summer jobs program to benefit dallas-area nonprofits and college students

ExxonMobil

The ExxonMobil Foundation said today that it is providing $55,000 in grants to nonprofit agencies in Dallas County as part of its Community Summer Jobs Program.

The program, entering its 29th-consecutive year, supports local agencies’ hiring of college students to help provide additional assistance to those in need in area communities. The students, who themselves will gain valuable work experience while learning about the important roles nonprofits play, will serve in eight-week paid internships.

“ExxonMobil’s Community Summer Jobs Program is designed to strengthen the ability of local nonprofit organizations to serve community members in need,” said Kevin Murphy, president of the ExxonMobil Foundation. “It also provides college student interns with a rewarding experience that teaches the value and importance of service.”

ExxonMobil’s program engages students in a broad range of activities with nonprofit groups, from conducting vision tests for children and evaluating treatment plans to bolstering social media and launching marketing campaigns. In addition to daily internship duties, students will participate in a group service project and benefit from professional development over the course of time they spend with the organization.

To qualify for the program, students must be enrolled undergraduates returning to an accredited university full time in the fall.

This year, the students selected to participate range from sophomores to seniors at universities across the country, including the University of Chicago, University of Georgia, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the University of North Texas. The students’ areas of study include marketing, political science, sociology, biological science, statistics and communication, among others.

2019 Participating Dallas County Nonprofit Agencies

Achieve                                                     www.achievedfw.org

Center for BrainHealth                           brainhealth.utdallas.edu

ChildCareGroup                                       www.childcaregroup.org

Community Partners of Dallas              www.cpdtx.org

Dallas Afterschool                                   www.dallasafterschool.org

Dallas Children’s Advocacy Center       www.dcac.org

Dallas Foundation                                   www.dallasfoundation.org

Dallas Services                                        www.dallasservices.org

Family Compass                                      www.family-compass.org

The Family Place                                      www.familyplace.org

Girl Scouts of Northeast Texas             www.gsnetx.org

LIFT                                                            www.lift-texas.org

Mosaic Family Services                          www.mosaicservices.org

Prism Health                                             www.prismhealthntx.org

Promise House                                         www.promisehouse.org

Readers 2 Leaders                                   www.readers2leaders.org

Retina Foundation                                    www.retinafoundation.org

Ronald McDonald House of Dallas        www.rmhdallas.org

World Affairs Council                               www.dfwworld.org

YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas                 www.ymcadallas.org

Read also: ExxonMobil Grants to Support Women Entrepreneurs and “She Counts” Program

Related posts

ExxonMobil to Provide $3 Million to USAID Programs in Mozambique

News Desk

Apple plans Three new versions of iPhone in 2020

Robert Frank

ADOBE revenues rose 2.7% this quarter

Robert Frank

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More